Not long after the railroads joined to creat a community that was to become West Chicago, settlers built their first houses of worship to contine the religious traditions handed town from generation to generation.

Today’s “modern-day settlers” keep the faith of their forebears at the 14 churches and temples located within the city proper. The denominations represented include Lutheran, Roman Catholic, United Church of Christ, RCA, Methodist, Episcopal, Church of Christ, Bahai, Baptist, and Buddist; West Chicago Bible Church is interdenominational. Temple B’Nai Israel is located in nearby Aurora.

For more information about the churches of West Chicago, click below.